I Humbly Accept Your Very Inspiring Blogger Award

One of the things about being a blogger that makes it so rewarding is stuff like this: being nominated for The Very Inspiring Blogger Award. This isn’t the first time I’ve been nominated for this award, and hopefully it won’t be the last.

You can read my previous Very Inspiring Blogger Award entries from December 2012 and March 2013.

This time around, I’ve been nominated by three bloggers: Sam, Tempest Rose, and Barbie Beaton. All three are favorite bloggers of mine, and if you haven’t read them yet, you better. Like, right now. Seriously.

I’m supposed to display the award, which I will. The one that Tempest Rose flew on her entry was pretty awesome, so that’s the flag I’m going to fly on this post. I’m a sucker for a Royal typewriter, after all.

 

 

And now…the rules (and I’m going to bend the rules, so sue me)

  1. Thank and link the amazing person(s) who nominated you – Done. And thank you again, Sam, Tempest Rose, and Barbie!
  2. List the rules and display the award – This is a little redundant, don’t you think…I’ll shut up now.
  3. Share seven facts about yourself – Sure, why not?
  4. Nominate 15 other amazing blogs and comment on their posts to let them know they have been nominated – I think 15 is excessive. But I will nominate bloggers who’ve been following me recently. Those of you who are new to Out Where the Buses Don’t Run have been warned.
  5. Proudly display the award logo on your blog and follow the blogger who nominated you – I believe this goes without saying.

 

Seven Facts About Me:

  1. I’m pleased to announce that Out Where the Buses Don’t Run is now being followed by more than 2,000 readers. For someone who had very modest ambitions when I started this blog, the fact that 2,000-plus people have signed on to read this blog gives me great incentive to keep this blog journey going. So I thank you all for reading and contributing. I do mean it when I say you have a lot to do with the success of this blog.
  2. I’ve developed a sudden and possibly debilitating (okay, I’m exaggerating) obsession with collecting vinyl records recently. I’ll blog more about this itch I can’t seem to stop scratching here soon, but I’ve been posting a lot about this on my Instagram feed as well.
  3. The title of this blog refers to a figure of speech that refers to one’s mental state, i.e., “his mind’s out where the buses don’t run.” It’s also the name of one of the best episodes of Miami Vice. Season Two, in fact.
  4. I recently celebrated my 12th wedding anniversary, on August 31st. But my wife and I consider September 16, 1998 to be our real anniversary; that’s the date we first started dating, and we’ve been together ever since.
  5. I was once the subject of a right-wing columnist’s rage in one of his ill-informed and rather ridiculous columns. It was another one of those “War Against Christmas” opinion pieces, and his column railed against “pagan non-believers like Gus Sanchez of Asheville.” Joke was on him, though, because he was responding to my rather sarcastic Letter to the Editor decrying the whole War on Christmas thing, wherein I signed my letter as “Gus Sanchez, Christmastime Pagan.”
  6. In my household, I’m the one who does the laundry. It’s been this way for more than a decade. I have a certain way of washing and folding, and I’m pretty fanatical about how the laundry gets done. So my wife pretty much has ceded control of this household chore over to me. Not that she’s complaining.
  7. Not that you’ve wondered, but I haven’t joined Twitter yet. I can’t decide whether it’s because I don’t need another online distraction, or whether the world doesn’t need me posting stupid shit like, “It’s occurred to me that Toto’s “Africa” is basically a prog-rock version of “Brown Sugar.” #meaningless

 

Alright, Now Go Read These People’s Blogs!

  1. Chief Writing Wolf
  2. Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please
  3. Coach Daddy
  4. Running in My Head
  5. Rough Ghosts
  6. On the Road to Inkrichment
  7. Not a Punk Rocker
  8. Americana Injustica
  9. Your Bipolar Girl
  10. Guy Portman’s Blog
  11. Missing Peace

(Okay, so I only nominated 11. Sue me.)

 

 

12 thoughts on “I Humbly Accept Your Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. Whoa! That was a fast return. I agree with you that 15 is excessive. 11 seems good because it’s a random, prime number. Congratulations Gus! Can’t wait to check out your blog suggestions.

  2. Glad to see you finally posted about this! I guess it took some prodding from a few of us. Well deserved, again. Congratulations on 2,000 followers! That’s a huge accomplishment. Here’s another 2,000! Cheers.

    • Honestly, I wasn’t avoiding or ignoring your nomination. I’m really terrible at responding to things like these at times. It’s only because Barbie nominated me yesterday that I realized I was being terrible at not getting back to yours and everyone else’s nominations. But thank you nonetheless for nominating me, it’s greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

