Love is Like Peanut Butter (Writing 101, Day Ten)

When I was a boy, there was no food I loved more than peanut butter. Every boy and girl learns to fall in love with a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, but my love for peanut butter was such that I simply ditched the jelly and enjoyed one peanut butter sandwich after another.

Not a day went by that I didn’t eat one of these peanut butter sandwiches. On white bread. Sometimes my mother would pack one in my lunchbox. Or she’d have one waiting for me when I came home from school. I just didn’t like jelly, for some reason. Meh. I found it odd that kids would like eating a sandwich with two distinct and disparate flavors, but, hey, that was me.

When I went to junior high school, and I started eating cafeteria lunch – hooray for Sloppy Joe! – my love for peanut butter suddenly waned. Besides, peanut butter was for kids. I was a pre-teen now.

It got to where just the thought of peanut butter would actually make my stomach turn. Peanut butter is just nasty! Who eats that junk? Kids, that’s right! Well, I made a promise that if I were to ever become a parent, peanut butter would be forbidden in my household.

Except…

A couple of years after my daughter was born, when this would come into her sphere of interest, I suddenly became interested again in peanut butter. And not just peanut butter, but anything with peanut butter. Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. Peanut butter pie. A stalk of celery and a smear of peanut butter. And, yes, a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

Whenever I have a craving for something sweet, I’ll look in the cupboards and reach for a jar of Skippy Creamy No-Stir Peanut Butter. Lately, I’ve been obsessed with Almond Butter as well. Not quite as sweet as peanut butter, but just as delicious.

It’s like I’m trying to make up for a lot of lost time with a lost love.

9 thoughts on “Love is Like Peanut Butter (Writing 101, Day Ten)

  1. Oh man I relate to this! I had plain peanut butter sandwiches on white bread until 8th grade when I moved to a school that had speciala for hot lunches each day. Then I ate peanut butter every day but Wednesday. Wednesday was chinese food day after all! Now I enjoy peanut butter mostly on toast.

  2. I’m still obsessed with peanut butter. Even if I already have something sweet, I gauge whether or not to pair it with my PB. Living in a country that doesn’t readily have it, I’ve been known to pay exorbitant prices and horde them in my room. Jelly? Never heard of it.

  3. I like peanut butter but oddly it has disappeared from my life like a dinosaur relic.
    Your post reminds me about the simple pleasure of life, you don’t have to go and find some amazing treat at some above and beyond restaurant. It’s right in the cupboard.

Leave a Reply

