To NaNoWriMo, or Not to NaNoWriMo…

…that is the question, whether ’tis nobler to suffer the slings and arrows of…

OH, ENOUGH, YOU POMPOUS PRICK. GET ON WITH YOUR BLOG!

Ahem!

So, yeah, that really is the question. We’re less than 3 days away from NaNoWriMo 2013 kicking off, and I haven’t tossed my name into the ring yet. Several weeks back, I encouraged, even extolled, why one could never get started on planning for NaNoWriMo soon enough. I was planning such a thrust, a full-scale, all-fronts conquest of a new work-in-progress that I was certain I was going to hammer out a more-than-acceptable first draft in 30 days. Plus, it would help me get past the multiple drafts of my current WIP, now languishing in revision hell. More on that fustercluck later.

Easy peasy, lemon squeezy, right?

Yeah, until life got in the way.

Hindsights always a bitch, and, truth be told, there’s never a good time to sell your home, especially if you just want to sell your home to move to a better school district. I’ve bored you enough with tales of my move. We’re still in some weird transitional flux, adjusting to apartment living for a short period, living out of boxes while our new home is being built. And there’s a general sense of busyness everywhere. I’m busy, my wife’s busy. I haven’t had much time for doing the things I enjoy, like blogging, and writing.

Which would lead you to assume NaNoWriMo would be out of the question for me, right? Well…not quite.

I’m in, but for different reasons. I need to flex my writing muscles, and I don’t believe in starting small. Either go big, or don’t bother. But I’ll be blunt here: I’m not going into NaNoWriMo ’13 with the full-throttled brio I had last year. I could use the motivation.

And that’s where you, fellow survivors of NaNaWriMo 2012 (especially you new readers to my blog – welcome!) and who are getting ready to dive once more unto the breach, dear friends (okay, what’s with the Shakespeare, Sanchez?), come into play. I could use the cheerleading.

The thing is, I’m going to go into NaNoWriMo ’13 with somewhat lowered expectations. I don’t think I’m actually going to finish a first draft in 30 days, but I at least intend to get the foundation of the first draft off the ground and running. I have the idea. I’m going to storyboard it – thank you, Scrivener! – over the next couple of days, and then take off from there. I mean, I proved already I could write a first draft, an entire manuscript, in 30 days, so there’s no reason why I can’t do it again. And once I’m done with this first draft, there’s always the fun of revisions.

Oh…wait. About that. So whatever happened to what I was working on last year? The whole superhero-in-a-midlife-crisis shebang-a-bang? Yeah…Well, there’s always been one indisputable piece of advice regarding writing, and that’s this: finish what you started. But sometimes you need a break. Sometimes you need to look at what you’ve written with a colder eye and acknowledge that you just might need to tear it apart and start all over again. And that will happen. But not right now. I’m not going to be a NaNo rebel and work on something pre-existing. Next month is for something new. Next month is the month I challenge myself, even with all the distractions surrounding me. Why the hell not, right?

So let’s do this, huh? Buddy me at dabi71 over at NaNoWriMo, if you haven’t buddied me from last year. I’ll buddy you back and promise to cheerlead you just the same.

Yeah, I’m in.

19 thoughts on “To NaNoWriMo, or Not to NaNoWriMo…

  1. Buddied you. I just declared myself in today, and like you I have to go at it with not-quite-standard expectations. In the best of all worlds, I’d have finished my edits on the current WIP and could start clean with a full outline Nov. 1. In reality, I’m struggling to get through this round of edits while running a re-election campaign to our local school board. So I don’t really expect to be able to starting NaNing until the 6th. And my outline is looking pretty dang sparse. And 50,000 words is far short of the 80-90,000 needed for a trade paperback mystery. But what the heck–I’ll join the community and write as many words as I can every day!

  2. After talking me into doing it again, you better be in, you pompous prick.

    I’m going in less motivated than last year, but with a great story to develop. Story boarding myself the next couple of days (thank you, Scrivener!).

    Ha! As I was writing this, a comment came through my notifications:

    “Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! By the way, how could we communicate?”

    When you learn to communicate, we’ll communicate! This is the third spam that’s slipped through Azkaban…I mean, Askimet. And they all hit an older post of mine. But I digress…last year’s story is still sitting in wait for revisions. I will sell no wine before its time. Glad you’re in. See you on the boards!

    • We’re on the same boat, Mike: we have a great story to develop, but we haven’t had the proper time to plan it before NaNoWriMo. So, yeah, we’re gonna wing it.

      I could write more blogs on some of the crap that Askimet has filtered.

  3. I admit I have been more prepared in the past, but I am going to take on your attitude and go into NaNoWriMo “with somewhat lowered expectations”. Goal is the get the words on the page, right? Good luck.

Leave a Reply

