A Few More Awards to Humbly Accept

I’m taking the time to pick up a couple of blogging awards that have come my way.

The first award I was nominated for was the Sunshine Award. Many thanks to Daily Rants with the Bitch Next Door  (man, I love that name!) for nominating me for this award. It’s very unexpected, and I’m flattered to have been nominated. I’m supposed to nominate a few bloggers, which I’ll do below, and answer some very pointed questions about me. Here goes:

What inspired you to start blogging?

I’ve been blogging for the better part of seven and a half years now. Over the past nine months, I’ve ramped up my blogging as part of my effort to create my author profile, starting with this blog.
How did you come up with the name for your blog?

Read this – So What’s Up With the Name of this Website, Anyway?

What is your favorite blog that you like to read?

Yours. And yours. And that guy’s over there.

Tell about your dream job.

Anthony Bourdain’s job. When he gets tired of doing it, tell him to call me.

Is your glass half full or half empty?

Technically, the glass is always full.

If you could go anywhere for a week’s vacation, where would you go?

Right now, it’s St. Maarten, so my wife and I can do nothing but drink beer and watch the planes land. What’s the big deal about watching planes land? See for yourself: –

 

What food can you absolutely not eat?

Brussels sprouts. Pure, concentrate evil wrapped in tiny green leaves, and they taste fucking nasty.

 

Dark chocolate or milk chocolate?

Dark chocolate. It’s better for you. All that anti-oxidants n’ shit.

 

How much time do you spend blogging – in other words, are you one of those lucky people who can dash off a blog post in no time, or like me and take forever on one post to get it just right?

I don’t blog as much as I’d like. I’m impressed by bloggers who can fire off two or three blogs per day. Me, I pour over every word, which is why I tend to take longer to post blogs. My post that was Freshly Pressed, “Should a Debut Novel ‘Play it Safe?‘,” took me six days to write, in between being sick and finding the time to write it. I guess what I’m saying is I like getting things done right, even if it means taking my time to make sure my blogs read right.

 

Do you watch tv – if so, what are some of your favorite shows?

Right now, there aren’t that many shows that are keeping me interested, but I do like watching Mad Men, Portlandia, the Layover, Community, and *COUGH* Duck Dynasty *COUGH*.

 

 

The second award I was nominated for was the Beautiful Blogger Award. Many thanks to Factory Maid for nominating me for this award. Yes, I do feel beautiful. And I should point out that for some silly reason, I always seem to want to call Factory Maid “Factory Girl,” the name coming from a hidden gem from the Rolling Stones’ “Beggars’ Banquet” album. Could be worse…

Per the requirements for accepting this Beautiful Blogger Award, I am to reveal seven “interesting” facts about myself. I hesitate in using the term “interesting.” More like “the seven that first came to mind.”

  1. I’ve lived in the South now for 13 years, and I still refuse to go “native.” That means I don’t care much for barbeque, sweet tea, or NASCAR.
  2. One of my favorite bands ever is ABBA. I shit you not.

  1. I’ve suddenly developed an unhealthy obsession with collecting phone covers for my iPhone 5.
  2. I keep all my writing projects in folders called…wait for it…”Writing Projects.” Each manila folder has the finished story or manuscript, along with the drafts and edits and handwritten sheets of paper.
  3. I crack my knuckles. A lot.
  4. My first car was a 1972 Chevy Nova. Rust brown. It had a hole in the floorboard. I could see the road beneath me when I looked down.
  5. I’m 6’3″. Yet my father is still an inch taller than me. Bastard.

Alright, I hereby nominate 15 bloggers…What I’m going to do here is toss a few curveballs; since I’ve racked up a few new readers over the past month or two, I figured it’s time I return the favor and shine a little light on them. I’m choosing 15 new subscribers, randomly. So, new readers (and thank you for subscribing to this little corner of WordPress), feel free to pick up whichever award you choose. Plus, I figure this might be a good way for some of you to actually say “hi,” and not just lurk. Yeah, I said it. Quit lurking!

Charmaine Clancy

Georgina Guthrie

– Alisa Ridout

Glenn Folkes

Rick Mallery

I’m the Madman

Honey-Tongued Harpy

Betty Hollan

Mary J. McCoy-Dressel

David Fernandez

R.R. Lippincott

Kait

Liquor Store Bear

Jennifer M. Eaton

Blah Blah Blonde

4 thoughts on “A Few More Awards to Humbly Accept

  1. Pingback: Happy to Accept the Sunshine Award | A Walk With Words

Leave a Reply

