A Couple of “Real” and “Inspiring” Awards to Accept

A couple of awards to accept, the Very Inspiring Blogger Award, and the Reality Blogger Award.

I’ve been nominated three times in the past couple for a Very Inspiring Blogger Award. This isn’t the first time I’ve been nominated for this award, but I’m honored, as always, to accept such an award.

I’d like to thank Cheryl Brandreth, Tracy Cembor, and Cassie for thinking of me when nominating me for this award.

As with any award, there are rules to observe during your acceptance.

Rules for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. Display the award logo on your blog.
  2. Link back to the person(s) who nominated you.
  3. State 7 things about yourself.
  4. Nominate 15 bloggers for this award.
  5. Notify those bloggers of the nomination by linking to one of their specific posts so that they get notified by pingback.

Seven Things About Gus Sanchez

  1. I graduated from St. John’s University with a pre-law degree, with every intent of continuing on to law school.
  2. Six months’ worth of experience working as a corporate paralegal in a law firm convinced me I wasn’t cut out to be a lawyer.
  3. I had seriously considered switching majors in college; I considered majoring in journalism, but was talked out of it by an adviser because “there’s no money in journalism.”
  4. Now I’m a project manager/business analyst in Information Technology. How I got there is a really long and rather boring story.
  5. I really suck at keeping up with television shows; I have never seen a single episode of Breaking BadLost, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Doctor Who, and The Big Bang Theory.
  6. I’ve got a serious case of plantar fascitis that’s cramping my running style right now, and it’s seriously casting doubts on me running the Cooper River 10K Run in six weeks’ time.
  7. I have tried for more than 20 years to learn to play the guitar. At best, I can pick out the opening notes to I Can’t Get No Satisfaction, at worst, I can pick out that same song and it sounds like I’m all thumbs.

My Nominees…See Below

I’ve also been nominated for a Reality Blogger Award. This is my first nomination, and I’m very excited to be nominated for this award.

I’d like to thank Victoria Sawyer for nominating me for this award. It was unexpected, to say the least, and very honored to accept this award.

 

The Reality Award involves answering five questions, and nominating five bloggers. Here goes:

If You Could Change Something, What Would You Change?

My underwear? Kidding.

I would change perhaps some of the time I’d lost not pursuing my writing ambitions, bemoaning not living the writer’s life. I’ve learned I can balance my work/life responsibilities, and life the writer’s life, but I wish I’d gotten a start sooner.

If You Could Repeat An Age, What Age Would It Be?

Not so much an age but a year, and that year was 1994. For me, it was the year I felt I finally became an adult. Well, not really an adult, but it’s when I first started doing adult-like things, like earn a living and live on my own.

What One Thing Really Scares You?

Losing someone I love, i.e., my wife or my daughter.

What One Dream Have You Not Completed Yet Which You Think You Will Be Able to Complete?

Well, first off, there’s some dreams I know I won’t complete…playing the left wing for Manchester United, replace Daniel Craig as the next James Bond, and take apart and rebuild a 1967 Mercury Cougar.

However, my dream of becoming a published author is becoming more and more a reality with each passing day. My blog anthology is being finalized as we speak, and I’m anticipating a late-spring publishing date, and my debut novel is still a work-in-progress, but it will be published, damn it!

If You Could Be Someone For a Day, Who Would it Be?

This guy. Anthony Bourdain. I’d murder a bus full of nuns to have his job just for one day. I’ve never missed a single episode of “No Reservations” or “The Layover,” and I’ve read all his books. Hell yeah, I’d love to travel, eat, and write, and get paid filthy sums of money to do all three.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Alright, 15 Bloggers…You Should Read Their Blogs Right Now!

Running on Sober

Marla Rose Brady

Stan Mitchell

The Better Man Projects

The Green Study

JC Marckx 2009

Factory Maid

Intellect Ink

Carrie Rubin

Girl in the Hat

What’s Broken

The Flavored Word

Portable Magic

Coffee and Cardigans

365 Days of a Blog Already in Progress

 

13 thoughts on “A Couple of “Real” and “Inspiring” Awards to Accept

  1. Thanks for the nomination, Gus!

    And holy shit, I learn more about you each and every day. I switched majors three times — English, to political science, to journalism.

    Still have no idea if that was the right decision. : )

    But I’ll bet you made the right move on aborting the law degree thing. I so rarely hear any of my friends say good about that field, which is increasingly becoming more and more saturated…

  2. Thanks so much for the award nod! Much appreciated! I will tuck it away with the others that I sorely need to get to. I’m not very good about it…

    But you really, really must watch an episode of the Big Bang Theory. So funny. Thanks again!

    • I was getting a bit backlogged with the award recognitions as well, so I figured right now would be a good time to extend my thanks to those who saw fit to nominate me.

      Someday I’ll catch up to that show, along with the hundreds of others I should have been watching.

  3. Hey, Gus. Congrats and thanks in one. Maybe some day you can give me some pointers on how to balance paying work with family with writing. It seems to me this requires real juggling. I’m just re-entering the workforce and can’t afford to drop any of these balls. Thanks again.

    • My pleasure.

      Believe me, it’s an impressive juggling act I’m trying to pull off as well. One thing you need is patience with yourself. The other thing that helps is to be vocal about what you want to do with regards to being a writer. When my wife started seeing some more results with my writing, she began to see this more as an ambition and not a hobby, and therefore became more supportive. It helps to have a good support system, but you have to be vocal about what it is you want in terms of your creative life.

  4. Anthony Boudain is my hero too. I love all the cameos of him on Top Chef too. The Layover episode of Atlanta was awesome. Anthony, Alton Brown, and Blondie at the Clermont Lounge. That’s like saying a chef, a school teacher, and a stripper walk into a bar. Gosh it made ATL seem cool.

    Good luck on your work-in-progress. I’m going to get back to mine as soon as I stop procrastinating… and finish my homework…

    • I’m such a Bourdain geek that I even tuned in to “Yo! Gabba Gabba!” just to watch his appearance. Of course, my daughter was a big fan of that show, so at least I had an excuse.

      My WIP is chugging along in fits and spurts. The bipolar in me is eagerly awaiting for spring to arrive so I can get my creative juices flowing like a dam bursting and flooding the valley below.

  5. Pingback: My Closet Has Skeletons. Literally. | The Write Transition

  6. Pingback: I Humbly Accept Your Very Inspiring Blogger Award | Out Where the Buses Don't Run

Leave a Reply

