Very Inspiring Blogger Award

It’s been my honor to have been nominated twice now for a Very Inspiring Blogger Award. I thank Michelle at Wake Up Tired and Will at What If It All Means Something for nominating me. They’re two of my favorite bloggers, and I invite and encourage you to read their blogs for their perspectives on life and writing and everything in between.

As I said, it’s an honor to accept this award. It’s recognitions like these that validate my blog and my attempts at blogging. Now, on to the awesome responsibilities I must assume since accepting this award:

  1. Display the Very Inspiring Blogger Award logo. (check)
  2. Link back to the person(s) nominating me. (check)
  3. State seven things about myself.
  4. Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award.
  5. Notify those bloggers of said nomination.

I’m going to tweak the rules a bit, but first, those seven things about myself.

  1. I write left-handed, and am ambidextrous with just about any task involving my hands.
  2. I’ve never broken a single bone in my body.
  3. My cholesterol level hasn’t been above 150 in over a decade.
  4. I was once the subject of a right-wing columnist’s rage in one of his ill-informed and rather ridiculous columns. It was another one of those “War Against Christmas” opinion pieces, and his column railed against “pagan non-believers like Gus Sanchez of Asheville.” Joke was on him, though, because he was responding to my rather sarcastic Letter to the Editor decrying the whole War on Christmas thing, wherein I signed my letter as “Gus Sanchez, Christmastime Pagan.”
  5. Favorites? Favorite film: Seven Samurai. Favorite novel: Gravity’s Rainbow. Favorite album: Quadrophenia.
  6. I have an irrational hatred for Brussels sprouts. Pure, unfiltered hatred wrapped in teeny green roughage. I fucking hate them.
  7. Since I turned 41 about two months ago, I learned the secret to what makes you happy after turning 40: comfortable house shoes.

Okay, now on to the nominations…instead of me nominating, I’d like to present a roll call of the bloggers (in addition to Michelle and Will’s respective blogs) you should be reading as well. For those bloggers who are finding themselves on this list, consider this your nomination. I mean, it is like a nomination. I guess what I’m saying is I’m too lazy to visit your blog and let you know you’ve been nominated. So there.

Xenogirl

ML Swift

Inked Out Loud

Bud Smith

Stan Mitchell

Running on Sober

Phillip McCollum

Sea of Scribble

HE Ellis

Jessmittens

 

8 thoughts on “Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. If there’s an aspiring blog to be found, Gus, it’s yours. I know that I’ve been inspired since finding you, which surprises me, what with the pagan rituals and human sacrifices going on over here. Heathens – the lot of you – but fun heathens, nonetheless. :o)

    You really do inspire…I always leave here ruminating on literary leaves of grass you’ve tossed out for our consideration. You’re an excellent writer (why you haven’t made it yet is beyond me), and it’s been a pleasure getting to know you.

    Oh…Brussels sprouts…I grew up hating them. Hating! A few years ago I was invited to Thanksgiving with friends and needed to take something. There was a recipe for them on like, some morning show (CBS?). Brussels sprouts with pancetta. Man, they even looked good on TV! So I made them. Okay…first, I am an awesome cook, so it wasn’t difficult, and second, they didn’t even have that Brussels sprouts stank on them. Lesson learned? Bacon makes everything taste better.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours! I’ll be here next year…hope to see you, too.

    • Crap…forgot to thank you for nominating me, which I’ll gladly accept and take over to the blogspot world. Focus, Mike, focus. I’ll post on Sunday, my inspirational quote day. And I’ve checked out several others on the list. Wonderful choices!

  2. Pingback: I Humbly Accept Your Very Inspiring Blogger Award | Out Where the Buses Don't Run

Leave a Reply

