NaNoWriMo, Day 30, Or: I Came, I Wrote, I Kicked Its’ Ass!

STATS (as of Day 30)

TOTAL WORDS: 51,996

WORDS PER DAY (AVERAGE): 1,733

So guess which writers cracked 50,000 words earlier today?

jz044

Here’s a screenshot of my NaNoWriMo Author page:

NaNoStats

Something weird did happen, though: both Scrivener and Word tallied up my word count at 50,996, but the NaNoWriMo site tacked on an extra 1,000 words. Not that I’m complaining, but I thought I’d disclose this odd discrepancies. So with that being said…

(Revised) STATS (as of Day 30)

TOTAL WORDS: 50,996

WORDS PER DAY (AVERAGE): 1,700

I should be popping open a bottle of champagne, but instead, I’ll pour me a glass of bourbon tonight and re-read Stephen King’ On Writing. I really am thrilled that I completed this draft of my manuscript in this short amount of time. If anything, NaNoWriMo has proven to me that if given the proper tools, the right motivation, and a solid support group, I can do this.

Now on to the really hard part…but first, I’ll take a few days, even weeks off. I need to walk away from my Work-in-Progress for a while, just to let it stew in its own juices (can’t you tell I’m writing this while I’m hungry – I have barbecued ribs in the brain right now) and let the story reveal itself even further. Besides, I’ve got some extra time these days – I’m in between projects right now, and I should be landing a new work gig in the coming weeks – so time for me to do some neglected house projects, like reorganizing the garage and installing some light fixtures and hauling off 12 tons of shit to either Goodwill or the landfill. Plus, I’ve got some writing books I’ve been wanting to read; I found my beat-up copy of Strunk and White’s The Elements of Style in the garage the other day, and since I subscribe to her website, Roz Morris’ Nail Your Novel is something I’ve been meaning to catch up to.

A lot of you have also taken part, and you have all inspired me as well, and I have been honored to have been an inspiration and a source of support for you. There are several folks I’d like to give a shout-out to, people from the Without Whom Department: Bud Smith, Xenogirl, ML Swift, What If It All Means Something, Stan Mitchell, Ink Out Loud, just to name a few. Check out their blogs if you haven’t already. They’ve all kicked NaNoWriMo in the ass this time around, and I for one can’t wait to read their material. It would be my pleasure to help out in any way I can.

(Hint, hint…seriously, I’ll beta-read the shit out of your stuff, guys. Just let me know)

Now, on to some ribs, a shot of bourbon, and some sleep.

40 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo, Day 30, Or: I Came, I Wrote, I Kicked Its’ Ass!

  1. I just saw that you had finished through the NaNo site…way to go! I knew you’d bitch-slap it into submission. Weird…NaNo’s verification gave me extra, too, but only 100. Guess my bitch-slaps needed a little more oomph! Congrats!

    • Yeah, it was certainly weird, and I figured out why: I pasted the same set of paragraphs twice in the Word doc I used to validate my novel. So really it was my mistake, not theirs, but an honest one nonetheless.

  2. Now download your NaNo winner badge! Oh, and thanks for the shout and the without whom, too. Coming over here and reading the (usually hilarious) account of your trudge this month kept me hoppin’.

  3. Thanks for the kind words, Gus, but just to clarify: I did NOT finish — or even attempt — NaNoWriMo. : ) I’m not sure I could do 50,000 in a month even if I didn’t own a small business. I’m more of a slow, but steady plodder, I think.

    So what you’ve achieved is no joke, and I made a note about the offer of being a beta reader. That’s a very kind offer and I’ll most certainly take you up on it! (Already made a note of it at the top of my Mexican Heat novel, so I won’t forget when I hit up my usual gang of beta’s.)

    Anyway, enjoy the bourbon! You earned it.

  4. Nice! I feel like congratulations are in order for you! It feels great to kick NaNoWriMo’s ass, doesn’t it? This is my seventh round with NaNo and it’s been knocked out every time. You said you would love to read my work and I would be more than happy to reciprocate the offer back to you. Anytime you ever want an opinion, or a proof read or whatever, just drop me a comment. You know where to find me…I’ll be in the nerd corner of the cyber-verse. But hey, the best part about the nerd corner in November, is I get to rock it with the best of them hahaha again, congratulations on everything you’ve achieved. The certificate looks good (I have mine too – so fun). Enjoy your bourbon and have an extra drink for me as I have to stay home all weekend writing an essay! 😦 Was this your first NaNo?

    • This was my second attempt, but my first win. My first attempt was so half-assed that I’m ashamed to even call it an attempt. It was more like dipping your big toe in the pool and declaring loudly, “IT’S TOO DAMNED COLD!” when it’s not cold at all.

  5. Congratulations 🙂 NaNo verification gave me about 50 extra words too. Not that I’m complaining! Now for a couple of weeks off to prepare for the editing!

  6. Pingback: December « Ink Out Loud

  7. Pingback: One Year Ago Today | Out Where the Buses Don't Run

Leave a Reply

