It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

No, not Christmas. That’s 2 months away, and frankly, I don’t ever look forward to Christmas. Not that I’m all humbug about it, but when Target has their Christmas displays throughout their stores after Labor Day, it’s kind of hard not to feel as if Christmas is being shoved down your throat.

October is my favorite time of the year.  The leaves begin their annual ritual. The air turns a bit crisper. A good time to break out the hoodies that have looked forlorn, longing for a cool day.  Yesterday was precisely that kind of day I love: gray, cool, a bit blustery, unmistakably fall. Good weather to go on a long run to; I intended to go on a short-ish run, and ended up running for 62 minutes and 7 miles. It didn’t matter that it was getting colder as the sun was setting; I was in my zone, and so was my iPhone, randomly shuffling the right songs on my running playlist.

(Hey, remind me one of these days to post my “Run, Fatboy, Run” playlist. It’s got some not-so-obvious song choices that give me the right kind of sonic cue when I’m running. Oh, and the playlist title is just a little motivation I like tossing at myself, as in, “You don’t want to be that fat guy again, do you? Then one more mile, fatso!” Okay, I’ll stop…)

I love the baseball playoffs coming into full swing, pun completely intended. Not that I have any real vested interest in who wins – after all, I’m a Mets fan, and usually my season for rooting for the Amazin’s ends around, oh…late July – but there’s always the threat of some serious drama breaking out at any game. It’s not a postseason unless there’s a memorable home run or a dominating pitching performance.

(Okay, I’m lying: I’m actually rooting for San Francisco, but, damn, they’ve looked horrible in both loses against the Reds.)

And, of course, there’s Halloween, the best holiday ever. Sorry, Jesus. I’m all about celebrating your birthday, but Halloween is a heck of a lot more fun.

Two things are taking place this month that mean more to me right now. One, the NaNoWriMo Outline, aka “The Planning Before The Madness.” I still don’t care much for outlining, but at least I’m now able to see some road signs that I wouldn’t get to see had I continued to “pants” my way through the WIP. One positive so far: the outlining process revealed what could be the title of the WIP. I’ll reveal it on another WIP/NaNo post.

(Speaking of NaNoWriMo, if you’re interested in buddying me, find me here. And let me know who you are as well, so I can harass you and make you wear the Cone of Shame support and cheer you on during November.

Also, is there a name for NaNoWriMo participants? Personally, I like NaNers. As if, “you’re completely bananers for doing this!)

One more thing about plotting and outlining: I read this interesting post about the use of mind-mapping as a tool to connect everything you want to touch upon in your story in a non-linear fashion. I’m going to give this a shot. Considering that I tend to be very non-linear, this may work well for me.

Finally, it’s my birth month. Yeah, I’m a Libra, although I can’t be bothered with that horrorscope malarkey. Yeah, balance…whatever. I’ve been all out of whack since I shot out of my mother’s mommy socket. My birthday’s a week from today. 41, to be exact. I’ll be glad when I’m no longer 40, because, seriously, turning 40 couldn’t have been any worse for me. At. All.

4 thoughts on “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

  1. This is awesome, because I literally just wrote a post where I talked about loving October for all the same reasons. Clearly the best people are October babies.

  2. I’m with you. September and October are my two favorite months of the year.

    Regarding what NaNo participants are called, most people use WriMos. It doesn’t make much sense when you break it down, but it’s easy to say and write. Though I like your suggestion of NaNers, it certainly fits!

Leave a Reply

