One Simple and Incredibly Painful Way to Fix Your Novel Draft

I stumbled upon this article on i09’s web site, of all places. i09 is a great source for all things geek, and while I was gently surprised to find this article here, I really shouldn’t be surprised. Part of being a geek, something I’m proud of being, is the channeling of the creative spirit. Some of the best writing I’ve encountered lately come from authors who are either full-fledged geeks or closeted geeks.

So without further ado…

One Simple and Incredibly Painful Way to Fix Your Novel Draft

First, the painful: yes, it’s an incredibly painful recommendation. Almost akin to removing an entire engine block apart just to make your ’67 Plymouth Barracuda hum just a little more sweeter. Painful, but perhaps necessary.

The simple part is what I find intriguing, because it seems so obvious, yet it’s something I would have never thought of doing. Hmm…

Considering that I already know my first draft is a dog with fleas, but a loyal, happy dog nonetheless, I’m already prepping myself for the inevitable revisions. This particularly eye-opening piece of advice will likely be a technique I will borrow.

There are also some other writing advice columns you can glean from i09’s website.

One thought on “One Simple and Incredibly Painful Way to Fix Your Novel Draft

  1. Pingback: Some Short Work-in-Progress Updates, and Some Author News That is Making Me Geek Out | Out Where the Buses Don't Run

Leave a Reply

