So What’s With the Name of This Website, Anyway?

Out Where the Buses Don’t Run (definitions)

  1. To mean someone whose mental functioning is non-standard, i.e., he’s gone crazy. (This quote is attributed to Kinky Friedman)
  2. Another variation of B.F.E.; this pretty much summarizes where I currently live, not quite out in the middle of nowhere, but it sure feels like it.
  3. One of the most memorable episodes of Miami Vice. 

Ignoring definition #3 (even if you shouldn’t; I mean, really, you shouldn’t, it’s a phenomenal episode), there’s plenty of true in definition #1 more than anything. To say I’m “out where the buses don’t run” isn’t an exaggeration by any means, especially when you’re a self-diagnosed manic depressive. Most specifically, I’m talking more about Bipolar Disorder #2, in which I’m flip-flopping between hypomania (episodes of euphoria and creativity) and depression, which not only grinds my creativity to a halt, but it makes me question my creative bent in the first place.

And that’s not somewhere I want to be right now.

It’s my wish, my intention, that this blog site will serve as a conduit where I can channel some of my creative tendencies, but also serve as an outlet for me to talk about what’s good in my life, and what’s bad. My life right now is a juggling act.

And I can’t juggle for shit.

3 thoughts on “So What’s With the Name of This Website, Anyway?

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMoBlahBlahBlah | Out Where the Buses Don't Run

  2. Pingback: A Few More Awards to Humbly Accept | Out Where the Buses Don't Run

  3. Pingback: One Year Ago Today | Out Where the Buses Don't Run

Leave a Reply

